Atozuke: Difference between revisions

Jump to navigation Jump to search
m
m (grammar)
Line 61: Line 61:


# The hand must have a specific yaku confirmed before winning. In addition, when calling, it must have a specific yaku confirmed without needing to make another call and without needing the winning tile. (In most cases, this is equivalent to "you must confirm a yaku when you make the first call".)
# The hand must have a specific yaku confirmed before winning. In addition, when calling, it must have a specific yaku confirmed without needing to make another call and without needing the winning tile. (In most cases, this is equivalent to "you must confirm a yaku when you make the first call".)
:* When a yaku is not guaranteed because it is implied by a superior yaku, e.g. when a hand can score either [[sanankou]] or [[suuankou]], atozuke doesn't apply.
:* Yaku with requirements on the whole hand, such as [[honitsu]] and [[chanta]], are immune to atozuke so long as the final wait confirms the yaku.
# The hand must have a yaku no matter which tile it wins on. Any hand that always has a yaku (any yaku) by the end can win.
# The hand must have a yaku no matter which tile it wins on. Any hand that always has a yaku (any yaku) by the end can win.


Line 71: Line 73:


But when rule #1 is used, this hand cannot win. Iipeikou is not guaranteed, neither is sanshoku. Because the hand cannot guarantee any specific type of yaku in its current state, it cannot win. In this case, the hand is closed, so you just can call [[riichi]].
But when rule #1 is used, this hand cannot win. Iipeikou is not guaranteed, neither is sanshoku. Because the hand cannot guarantee any specific type of yaku in its current state, it cannot win. In this case, the hand is closed, so you just can call [[riichi]].
Note: when a yaku is not guaranteed because it is implied by another yaku, e.g. when a hand can score either [[sanankou]] or [[suuankou]], atozuke does not apply, even when using rule #1.


  {{#mjt:123m456p567s5577z}} Agari: {{#mjt:5z}} or {{#mjt:7z}}
  {{#mjt:123m456p567s5577z}} Agari: {{#mjt:5z}} or {{#mjt:7z}}


This hand would gain a yakuhai triplet if it wins off the haku or chun. However, it does not have any yaku in the current state, and so it cannot win if rule #1 is in effect.
This hand would gain a yakuhai triplet if it wins off the haku or chun. However, it does not have any yaku in the current state, so it cannot win when rule #1 is in effect.


=== Yaku confirmed post-call ===
=== Yaku confirmed post-call ===
Line 90: Line 90:


When the hand's ''closed section'' guarantees a specific yaku, and the winning tile is not related to completing said yaku, the hand is never subject to atozuke. Even under rule #1, it will always be eligible to win.
When the hand's ''closed section'' guarantees a specific yaku, and the winning tile is not related to completing said yaku, the hand is never subject to atozuke. Even under rule #1, it will always be eligible to win.
*In this case, the hand has a closed hatsu triplet, so it can always win. Even if the hatsu triplet was drawn after the 789-sou call, there would be no practical way to prove you didn't have the hatsu triplet before calling. Therefore, "drawing into a yaku after calling" is allowed so long as you complete the yaku before tenpai.
 
*For whole hand yaku, like [[honitsu]] and [[chanta]], the hand's closed section is considered to have "guaranteed the yaku". Therefore, even if the hand didn't qualify for honitsu at the time of the first call, you can win with an open honitsu-only hand. (For a yaku like chanta, your waits still need to guarantee chanta to not be atozuke.)
In this case, the hand has a closed hatsu triplet, so it can always win. Even if the hatsu triplet was drawn after the 789-sou call, there would be no practical way to prove you didn't have the hatsu triplet before calling. Therefore, "drawing into a yaku after calling" is allowed so long as you complete the yaku before tenpai.


== Strategy ==
== Strategy ==
2,051

edits

Navigation menu