From Japanese Mahjong Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The "variation" section deals with the case where all occurrences of the tile needed for winning are in the players' hand, stating that depending on rule variations it could be considered noten or tenpai. I'm not sure there's a mistake there, but I never saw rules that would actually count it as tenpai, is someone able to clarify?

To be honest, I have never seen that either, However, I think this might be an elaboration on how tenpai is defined as its often defined based on shape, making this an "exception" to the rule so to say. It is certain that this kind of additional is needed in the Europe community Yazphier (talk) 02:59, 2 August 2016 (UTC)

Why not change "Under some rules and conditions, hands appear to be in tenpai will be declared as noten instead." to "Under some rules and conditions, hands that would normally be considered noten will be granted a tenpai status." to reflect that this is the exception and not the norm?

This suggestion makes sense, and applies to tenpai aswell, requesting User:KyuuAA to elaborate why this is written as it is (and possible make the changes :D) Yazphier (talk) 18:40, 5 August 2016 (UTC)