Chombo: Difference between revisions

Jump to navigation Jump to search
71 bytes added ,  17 July 2024
m
No edit summary
Line 3: Line 3:


== Application ==
== Application ==
Chombo penalties are often severe enough to warrant a hand restart. For example, say you declare an incorrect [[ron]] and reveal your hand. By revealing the hand, you affect other players' strategy, because the available tile count would be adjusted. If you had a triplet of 3-pin, and someone was waiting on 3-pin, they now know that winning is unlikely. In addition, revealing your tiles can make [[kabe|certain other tiles safer]]. For this reason, a chombo is awarded. Minor infractions are given a [[dead hand]] penalty instead.
Chombo penalties are often severe enough to warrant a hand restart. For example, say you declare an incorrect [[ron]] and reveal your hand. By revealing the hand, you affect other players' strategy, because the available tile count would be adjusted. E.g., if you had a triplet of 3-pin, and someone was waiting on 3-pin, they now know that winning is unlikely. In addition, revealing your tiles can make [[kabe|certain other tiles safer]]. The gamestate is irreversibly changed, so it cannot continue normally. Therefore, a chombo is awarded. Minor infractions are given a [[dead hand]] penalty instead.


In all instances of chombo, the current hand is aborted and repeated. Players who have declared [[riichi]] during the aborted hand get their riichi bet back. Most rules leave the [[honba]] count unchanged for the repeat.
In all instances of chombo, the current hand is aborted and repeated. Players who have declared [[riichi]] during the aborted hand get their riichi bet back. Most rules leave the [[honba]] count unchanged for the repeat.
2,051

edits

Navigation menu